Miyazaki

To most foreigners, the word “Miyazaki” represents a famous animation movie director, Hayao Miyazaki, but unfortunately, this entry is not about anime, but about a prefecture in Kyushu which most foreigners have almost never heard of. However, many unexpected surprises awaited me when I went to Miyazaki in 2009 as part of a trip round Kyushu.

JR Hisatsu Line is one of the most beautiful lines I have ever taken, both in terms of the scenery that it passes by, as well as the interior of the train itself. Instead of rows of seats that we are normally used to, this train has an interesting layout inside. Round tables, round counters, and exquisitely designed walls and ceilings are not what we associate with trains, but this train gave me a pleasant surprise when I stepped into it. Not only that, as we passed by the beautiful greenery and scenery of mountain and rivers, an announcement is played continuously, describing and explaining to us the landscape flowing past the window panes.

Families sitting around the round tables, friends gathering around the counters, some busy chattering non-stop, some peering out of the window and amazed by the splendid scenery, while others were just filling their stomachs with snacks and bread. At one point, the train passed by a river that was so clear that it looked green. It was indeed one of the most beautiful rivers I had ever seen- Kumagawa, which lies between Yashiro and Hitoyoshi stations.

The cherry blossom trees lining up by the side of Kumagawa added spots of pink to the picturesque landscape.  This train line meanders around the deep valleys and mountains, crisscrossing with the river at regular intervals. After Hitoyoshi station, on the way to Yoshimatsu station, the train reaches a mountainous region situated between Kumamoto Prefecture and Miyazaki Prefecture, and stands 430 metres above sea level. The train then enters a long tunnel, before emerging into a vast landscape of open plains. Kirishima mountain range and Sakurajima stand far away in a distance, each standing out on its own, as if trying to appeal its presence. This is also known as the most beautiful train scenery in Japan.

As soon as the train came to a stop for us to enjoy the landscape, most passengers whipped out their cameras and started snapping photos of this gorgeous sight.

Just a few days before I embarked on this trip, I searched on the internet to find out the tourist spots of Miyazaki prefecture, and the top results were Nichi-nan and Aoshima. Nichi-nan is situated a little far away so due to time constraints, I had to make do with visiting just Aoshima. As I walked along the shore , with a map in my hands, sea breeze blew gently across my cheeks as I inhaled the fresh air, unpolluted by car exhausts and factory wastes. A long narrow bridge came into sight and an island stood at the far end of the connecting bridge. I realized it was Aoshima, as I stopped to take a photo from afar.

The main attraction of Aoshima is the “Ogre’s Washboard”, which is a series of wavelike rocks caused by attrition and corrosion of the seabed by heavy waves crashing on to the shores. One round around the island of Aoshima is only 1.5km. I took a casual stroll around the island, appreciating the sculpture embedded on Aoshima. An anonymous piece of art, I thought to myself, as I see the waves piling onto each other aggressively, as if trying to cover up its signature.

投稿日: 2012年3月7日 | カテゴリー: Miyazaki (宮崎県) | パーマリンク コメントする.

コメントを残す